Shamoozal.com - Smorgas Board

Official Forum of Shamoozal.com
It is currently October, 24, 2014 - 2:44pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]




Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Flash: Exporting to Quicktime
PostPosted: February, 22, 2010 - 6:10pm 
Offline
1st Lieutanant Man-Bot
User avatar

Joined: February, 1, 2008 - 2:43am
Posts: 956
Location: New Hampshire
I'm not much of a postproduction guy, 95% of my work is purely character animation, but every once in a while I have to actually take stuff out of Flash and edit it. Right now I'm working on my new demo reel.

So I'm apparently terrible at getting stuff from Flash to a .mov file. I feel like I have all the correct things like frame rate, etc, and I barely compress it. But every single time if it's a complicated scene I get boatloads of dropped frames and whatever. The video just chugs. And I've tried every combination of settings I can think of.

Usually I just get frustrated and export the whole thing as a .png sequence, and then when I re-assemble the stuff in Quicktime I don't have the same problems.

Any advice on what I'm doing wrong here?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Flash: Exporting to Quicktime
PostPosted: February, 22, 2010 - 6:29pm 
Offline
High School Bully
User avatar

Joined: June, 3, 2005 - 9:23pm
Posts: 31322
Location: New Jersey
josephmcklay wrote:
Usually I just get frustrated and export the whole thing as a .png sequence, and then when I re-assemble the stuff in Quicktime I don't have the same problems.


This.

As far as I understand, Flash is just a piece of shit and these things just happen to everyone.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Flash: Exporting to Quicktime
PostPosted: February, 22, 2010 - 7:11pm 
Offline
Peepers Peeled
User avatar

Joined: July, 10, 2005 - 6:14pm
Posts: 12923
Location: The Island
yeah, avoid using flash to export any QT's ever. it never works the way you want it. just export it as a .png sequence and reassemble in after effects or whatever editing software you use.

_________________
Swear to me.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Flash: Exporting to Quicktime
PostPosted: February, 22, 2010 - 8:01pm 
Offline
1st Lieutanant Man-Bot
User avatar

Joined: February, 1, 2008 - 2:43am
Posts: 956
Location: New Hampshire
Hahaha...thanks, guys. I'm actually kinda happy to know it's not my fault. Screw Apple and screw Adobe.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group